Composer: Peacock, Curtis
Instrumentation: Solo and Piano Instruments: Euphonium, Piano
Genre: Romantic, Virtuosic

From $17.00

To $34.00

In stock


Visions for euphonium and piano was written in the fall of 2014. It was commissioned by Israeli euphoniumist, Ifat Meir in memory of her mother, Sara Shlaifstein Meir.  Ifat told me that her mother went blind before she passed away and had only fleeting memories of vision.  At times, her memories of vision were very vivid and at other times, they were faint.  So this piece was written with that idea of having varying degrees of memory of vision, but not actual vision. 

Visions is a one-movement fantasy.  Loosely, it has a kind of sonata form.  After a very short introduction, two themes are presented.  The first theme is conversational between the piano and euphonium.  The second, more expressive theme marked con moto is played togetherAfter the initial two themes, a kind of development section takes the first theme through many far-reaching keys.  Then, the initial two themes return, one half-step higher than the original statement.  Finally, a lengthy coda which is based on the brief introduction and second theme, serves as a kind of secondary development section before bringing the piece to a close. 


Customize Visions

* Required Fields

Your Customization

In stock



    Curtis Peacock burst onto the music scene by winning first place in the Arizona All-State auditions his freshmen year in high school.  By graduation, he had already performed as a soloist on National Public Radio and played principal tuba in National Honor Bands in Washington D.C. and New York’s Carnegie Hall.  He has since studied with some of the best tuba players in the world including Sam Pilafian, Patrick Sheridan and Chris Olka.  Dr. Peacock holds degrees in music performance from the University of Washington and Arizona State University.  In 2011, Dr. Peacock became the first tuba player to win the prestigious Frances Walton classical solo competition hosted by the Ladies Musical Club of Seattle.  As part of this prize, he toured Washington, performed a solo recital on Seattle’s KING-FM radio and purchased an engagement ring for his wife with the prize money.  In 2012, he was featured with the University of Washington and Central Washington University Wind Ensembles performing his own Concerto.  He has released two jazz recordings, RetroPotential (2010) and Blue Turning Cool (2011) with his trio, RetroPotential.  His first classical release, Plog: Three Miniatures – Peacock: Concerto (2013), features the Central Washington University Wind Ensemble under the direction of Larry Gookin and Dean Snavely. Dr. Peacock has served on the faculty of Central Washington University and Northern Arizona University.  More information can be found at

    More Information
    SKU CM2848
    Price 17.00
    Delivery PDF download, Shipped (printed)
    Composer Peacock, Curtis
    Instrument Euphonium, Piano
    Instrumentation Solo and Piano
    Genre Romantic, Virtuosic
    Grade 4
    Duration 5
    Publisher Cimarron Music Press
    Write Your Own Review
    Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
    Ask Your Question
    Jot us a note and we’ll get back to you as quickly as possible.