Concerto No. 1

Composer: Lester, Ian
Instrumentation: Solo and Piano Instruments: Drum Set, Piano, Tuba
Genre: Ceremonial

From $28.00

To $56.00

In stock

Concerto for Tuba No. 1 for Tuba, Drum Set, and Piano was written for Thomas Stein, professor of tuba and euphonium at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Each of the four movements is given a one-word title which sets the tone for the corresponding movement: Flowing, Dance, Smoke, and Festivities. The first movement sways between several themes including the main “flowing” material and a heavier, eighth note motive that morphs into a buoyant, jazzy groove. The second movement conveys a light-hearted dance, yet there is a stern, ominous undertone always lurking in the shadows. The third movement brings the listener to the 1920s with the performers creating a smooth atmosphere in an era full of intrigue and mystery. The final movement is a non-stop, chaotic ride that gains momentum through groovy syncopations and off-kilter beats. The tubist brings the piece to a rapid-fire close with a head-banging cadenza and the return of the original thematic material.
Customize Concerto No. 1

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Concerto No. 1
Concerto No. 1

In stock


    More Information
    SKU CM5163
    Price 28.00
    First published 2021
    Delivery PDF download, Shipped (printed)
    Composer Lester, Ian
    Instrument Drum Set, Piano, Tuba
    Instrumentation Solo and Piano
    Genre Ceremonial
    Grade 5
    Duration 15
    Publisher Cimarron Music Press
    Write Your Own Review
    Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
    Ask Your Question
    Jot us a note and we’ll get back to you as quickly as possible.