Fourth Watch

Composer: Paff, John
Instrumentation: Solo and Piano Instruments: Piano, Tuba
Genre: Contemporary

From $18.00

To $36.00

In stock


with Piano

Fourth Watch is a suite in three movements for Tuba and Piano. The name refers to usage of the use of the interval of the fourth and its accompanying quartal harmony. The first movement begins in the key of C, with standard tertian harmony and the fourths are brought in soon in a subtle manner. As the movement progresses, the fourths and quartal harmony become more of a force.

The second movement, a slower one compared with the first, starts with quartal harmony and is supplemented with tertian elements. The third movement is more of a combination of quartal and tertian segments. With regard to the piano part, as quartal chord intervals can be a challenge to pianists, care was taken to have the quartal sections accommodate the player by not changing overly fast.

By its nature of involving quartal and tertian harmonies, Fourth Watch is different than many compositions and, while having some of the inevitable dissonance of quartal harmony, it maintains a modicum of normalcy for the benefit of players and audiences. Fourth Watch will grab the listener’s attention, but the changes in the music and the relatively short length of the movements will keep those unfamiliar with these sounds from becoming lost or bored.

Customize Fourth Watch

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Fourth Watch
Fourth Watch

In stock


    More Information
    SKU CM4276
    Price 18.00
    First published 2018
    Delivery PDF download, Shipped (printed)
    Composer Paff, John
    Instrument Piano, Tuba
    Instrumentation Solo and Piano
    Genre Contemporary
    Grade 3
    Duration 5
    Publisher Cimarron Music Press
    Write Your Own Review
    Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
    Ask Your Question
    Jot us a note and we’ll get back to you as quickly as possible.