Sonata da Chiesa (III)

Composer: Joyce, Brian
Instrumentation: Quartet

From $35.00

To $70.00

In stock

2 Trumpets and 2 Trombones; I. Christ lag in Todesbanden II. Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag III. Auf, Auf, mein Herz, mit Freuden IV. Gelobt sei Gott im höchsten Thron: intended for the Easter season
Customize Sonata da Chiesa (III)

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Sonata da Chiesa (III)
Sonata da Chiesa (III)

In stock



    Like my Sonata da Chiesa for woodwind quartet and harpsichord (also published by Cimarron Press), this new work uses hymn melodies from the German Baroque as its principal thematic material.  But where the earlier work was based on Christmas hymns,  this new Sonata is intended for the Easter season.  This piece, like its predecessor, can serve in a variety of performance venues: Played in its entirety,  the Sonata would work well in a concert setting. Played separately,  its movements could easily function in an actual liturgical context: prelude, offertory, postlude, etc.

    The first movement begins in the tomb during the pre-dawn hours, so to speak, with a setting of the ancient melody Christ lag in Todesbanden (Christ Jesus Lay in Death’s Strong Bonds).  This is treated as a simple harmonization of the chorale in the brass.  Wrapping itself around the chorale, however, (perhaps taking its cue from the title?) is a contrapuntal web of tendrils in the organ.  The mood is quiet, reverent and introspective.  In contrast, the second movement, Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag (On Earth Has Dawned This Day of Days) explodes in a jarringly remote key (But shouldn’t we be jarred by the Resurrection?)  Here the hymn tune is confined to the organ pedals, while the manuals and brass provide festive commentary.

    The hymns on which the third and fourth movements are based offer responses to the narrative truths found in the first two hymns.  Auf, auf mein Herz (Awake, My Heart, With Gladness) is treated in canon throughout and presents a mood of confidence and joy, as befits a personal response to the message of Easter.  The fourth movement, Gelobt sei Gott im höchsten Thron, (Good Christians All, Rejoice and Sing) is full of exuberant celebration,  appropriate to a corporate response.

    More Information
    SKU CM2251
    Price 35.00
    Composer Joyce, Brian
    Instrumentation Quartet
    Publisher Cimarron Music Press
    Write Your Own Review
    Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
    Ask Your Question
    Jot us a note and we’ll get back to you as quickly as possible.