Canticles of Saint Francis

Composer: Buss, Howard J.
Instrumentation: Solo Instruments: Clarinet
Genre: Contemporary

From $12.00

To $24.00

In stock

Between 12 - 24 Reward Points will be used to purchase this product
A tribute to St. Francis of Assisi, the venerated Catholic friar, preacher, founder of several Orders, and lover of animals and the environment. Canticles is in 4 movements, Prelude, Worldly Pleasures, Meditation, and A Blessed Legacy. It showcases the sonic beauty and technically agility of the clarinet. The character of the music ranges from soulful introspection to worldly exuberance. At the opening of the first movement and near the close of the last, sounds a four-note melodic fragment, G, F, D, and B, which is derived from St. Francis’ name at birth, Giovanni Francesco di Bernadone. This device is used sparingly so that when it does appear, it is given special prominence. Canticles of Saint Francis was composed during the autumn of 2012 and was commissioned by clarinetist Kathleen Jones for ClarinetFest 2013 in Assisi, Italy.
Customize Canticles of Saint Francis

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Canticles of Saint Francis
Canticles of Saint Francis

In stock