Euphonium and Piano

View as List Grid

Items 61-80 of 286

per page
Set Descending Direction
  1. Concerto for Euphonium

    From $22.00

    To $44.00

    with Piano (band version available soon)

    Ms. Wan-Yun Liang is a young Taiwanese woman composer, whose works mostly focus on winds chamber music as well as ensemble works. The Euphonium Concerto, Ms. Liang’s latest composition, was commissioned by Shih-Yao Huang, a Taiwanese Baritone player, and the winds ensemble of National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan. This Concerto contains three movements. The first movement is in a sonata form with two contrasting style melodies. The second movement is titled “Rondo” and the main theme is played by the Alto Saxophone player. In the middle section of this movement, the music turns into a charming waltz and which leads goes back to the beginning section. The third movement is a fast dancing movement with a slow introduction. As a brass player herself, Ms. Liang is willing to give the solo part many fast tonguing passages as well lyrical melodies to demonstrate the specific characteristics of this instrument. This work was premiered in July 7th, 2018, by Shih-Yao Huang and the winds ensemble of National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan, under the direction of Chwan-Yaw Foo.             

    Learn More
  2. Concerto for Euphonium

    From $28.00

    To $56.00

    with Piano (orchestral and band accompaniment available in the future)

    In four movements and subtitled "Creative States", this concerto will allow the audience's imagination run wild as the performer paints the picture:

    I. Wonder

    II. Emptiness

    III. Emptiness

    IV. Joy


    This piece was commissioned by:

    Amy Schumaker Bliss

    Lauren Veronie Curran

    Jonathan Helmick

    Jamie Lipton

    Gail Robertson

    Travis Scott

    Evagene Wellman

    I tend to think that the subtitle and movement titles of this piece should be fairly self explanatory. However, after thinking about it a bit I realized that perhaps there is room for at least a little elaboration. This piece is about states that I (and you?) can put myself in when I have little or no inspiration for a piece. In that sense, it was a bit of a joke on myself as I was writing this concerto. I have always claimed that there is plenty of human and personal subject matter about which to write, so this is about what one can do when not feeling particularly inspired.

    Three of the movements are states of childlike awareness - Wonder, Playfulness and Joy. The second movement is more of a meditative state, Emptiness, and is musically reflective of the piano "Gymnopedies" of Erik Satie. To me, it is a zen like emptying of oneself, creating a mental and emotional vacuum into which inspiration can enter. What is not mentioned here is that deadlines can also be a powerful impetus towards creativity for composers and other artists. Deadlines are the most terrifying, but often the most effective.

    Learn More
View as List Grid

Items 61-80 of 286

per page
Set Descending Direction